Friday, 10th December, 2010

Traitors’ Gate

On 9th December, we had 36 Lib Dem MPS who didn’t vote against a rise in tuition fees. traitors' gateBefore the election, they had promised, as part of the deal to be elected, that they would oppose such rises. Some of them even tried to say that if your party doesn’t get a majority, you don’t have to keep your promises. Of course they must: it’s not a question of not having Government support or money to implement a policy: they simply had to vote no, and to their eternal shame, they didn’t.

Congratulations to Charles Kennedy, Ming Campell, Greg Mulholland and the others who came down on the right side in the end.

Here is the roll of dishonour of the others, with the absentees first, just in case they thought they wouldn’t be noticed…

Lorely Burt Solihull LDem absent
Martin Horwood Cheltenham LDem absent
Simon Hughes Bermondsey and Old Southwark LDem absent
Christopher Huhne Eastleigh LDem absent
Tessa Munt Wells LDem absent
Robert Smith West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine LDem absent
John Thurso Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross LDem absent
Stephen Williams Bristol West LDem absent

and the rest of them…

Danny Alexander Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey LDem aye
Norman Baker Lewes LDem aye
Alan Beith Berwick-upon-Tweed LDem aye
Gordon Birtwistle Burnley LDem aye
Tom Brake Carshalton and Wallington LDem aye
Jeremy Browne Taunton Deane LDem aye
Malcolm Bruce Gordon LDem aye
Paul Burstow Sutton and Cheam LDem aye
Vincent Cable Twickenham LDem aye
Alistair Carmichael Orkney and Shetland LDem aye
Nicholas Clegg Sheffield, Hallam LDem aye
Edward Davey Kingston and Surbiton LDem aye
Lynne Featherstone Hornsey and Wood Green LDem aye
Don Foster Bath LDem aye
Stephen Gilbert St Austell and Newquay LDem aye
Duncan Hames Chippenham LDem aye
Nick Harvey North Devon LDem aye
David Heath Somerton and Frome LDem aye
John Hemming Birmingham, Yardley LDem aye
Mark Hunter Cheadle LDem tellaye
Norman Lamb North Norfolk LDem aye
David Laws Yeovil LDem aye
Michael Moore Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk LDem aye
Andrew Stunell Hazel Grove LDem aye
Jo Swinson East Dunbartonshire LDem aye
Sarah Teather Brent Central LDem aye
David Ward Bradford East LDem aye
Steve Webb Thornbury and Yate LDem aye
Permalink • Print • Comment

Trackback uri

2 Comments on Traitors’ Gate »

Friday, 10th December, 2010

Christopher Twelvetrees @ 5:57 pm:

Spot on, Ludamus!

Wednesday, 5th January, 2011

Dogso @ 4:17 pm:

We’ll see whether the Lib Dems get a thumping in the Oldham by-election, then.

Leave a Comment

Made with WordPress and an easy to use WordPress theme • Myrna's List skin by Myrna Weinreich